Annual Dinner and Trophy Presentation

November 3rd 2021

The Club held their annual dinner and trophy presentation at the Bath & County Club last Saturday. In front of 45 members and guests the club Chair, Lynne Passfield, presented the trophies for the various winners of the seasons competitions plus three trophies awarded by the clubs committee for play during the season or voted for by members for contribution over the whole season.
The Founders Trophy, which was given to the club by Mrs Brash-Smith on the reforming of the Bath Croquet Club in 1976, was presented on the clubs 45th anniversary to the winners of the AC Doubles tournament, Martin Alabaster and Timothy Cantell. The Advanced AC 4-12 handicap competition was won by Richard Jelly whilst the Open AC handicap cup went to Lynne Passfield after a 4 hour marathon match. Other AC competition winners were Philip de Glanville (AC 4-12 handicap), Tony Curson (AC 14 + handicap), Henriette van Deth (AC League) and Peter Miles (Short Lawns).
Sally Helvey was a double champion winning both the Open GC handicap and the GC High handicap competitions. The GC League trophy was presented to Miriam Bolger with the GC Doubles competition going to Sue Duncan and Curson. The GC Progressive doubles competition was won by Duncan and the late Sue Ramsdale.
The Garrard Trophy for the most improved player was awarded to Ally Hoyland who apart from her improved GC play and handicap also won the clubs One Ball trophy. The Nick King Trophy for the most improved newcomer, decided over the last two years due to no competitions in 2020, went to Sue Duncan for her application to improve her overall game and handicap as well as winning two doubles competitions. The Norman Connor Award, voted for by the membership for contribution to the successful running of the club went to Tony Curson.
The full list of winners is below and for those not present at the dinner the trophies will be given out at the AGM.

o AC Advanced Level Singles (Avon Trophy) – Roger Hayes (to be presented at AGM)
o AC Advanced Level Singles HC 4-12 (Stopforth Cup) – Richard Jelly
o AC Handicap Singles Open (Alderwick Cup) – Lynne Passfield
o AC Handicap Singles HC 4-12 (Apps Heley Cup) – Philip de Glanville
o AC Handicap Singles 14+ (Secretary’s Cup) – Tony Curson
o AC Handicap Singles (League Salver) – Henriette van Deth
o GC Level Singles (Richard Mills Cup) – Roger Hayes (to be presented at AGM)
o GC Handicap Singles (Margaret Langley Salver) – Sally Helvey
o GC Higher Handicap Singles (Whitfield Salver) – Sally Helvey
o GC Handicap Singles League (Bath Salver) – Miriam Bolger
o One-Ball Handicap Singles Windsor-Aubrey Cup – Ally Hoyland
o AC Handicap Doubles Tournament – Founders Cup – Martin Alabaster and Timothy Cantell
o AC Short Lawns ( Chairman’s Cup) – Margaret Murray (to be presented at AGM)
o GC Handicap Doubles – Sue Duncan and Tony Curson
o GC Progressive Doubles – Sue Duncan (low) and Sue Ramsdale (high)

o Garrard Trophy – Ally Hoyland
o Nick King Cup – Sue Duncan
o Captain’s Cup – to be announced and presented at AGM
o Norman Connor Award – Tony Curson

Photographs of the trophies and some of the winners are below: